Detroit, (November 13, 2012) – The Detroit Symphony Orchestra (DSO) gears up for a night of  Russian classics as it performs Khachaturian’s suite from Masquerade and Spartacus and Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 2, featuring renowned pianist Joyce Yang.  Led by Maestro Peter Oundjian, the evening will also include Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 2, passionately known as, “Little Russian.” The performances will take place on Thursday, November 29 at 7:30 p.m. and Friday, November 30 at 10:45 a.m.

The performance will be webcast to a global audience on Friday, November 30 at 10:45 a.m. via the DSO’s “Live from Orchestra Hall” series. Log on to dso.org/live to view the concert from your computer or mobile device anywhere in the world.

Prior the Nov. 29th performance, the DSO invites all patrons to join DSO former conducting assistant Charles Greenwell and Maestro Peter Oundjian as they lead a discussion on Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninoff and Khachaturian’s repertoire. The discussion will take place in Orchestra Hall one hour prior to the performance.

Critically acclaimed as “the most gifted young pianist of her generation” with a “million-volt stage presence,” pianist Joyce Yang captivates audiences around the globe with her stunning virtuosity, heartfelt lyricism, and interpretive sensitivity. At just twenty-five years old, she has established herself as one of the leading artists of her generation through her innovative solo recitals and notable collaborations with the world’s top orchestras. In 2010 she was awarded an Avery Fisher Career Grant, one of the most prestigious prizes in classical music.

Maestro Peter Oundjian, a dynamic presence in the orchestral world, continues to make his mark as one of today’s most exciting faces on the conducting scene. A tribute to his many years as a world-class chamber musician, Peter Oundjian is renowned for his probing musicality, spirit of collaboration, and engaging personality. Through his communicative gifts on and off the podium, Peter Oundjian’s concerts draw strong audiences as he explores the breadth and depth of orchestral repertoire, and teams with world-renowned soloists.


Tickets to Rachmaninoff & Tchaikovsky begin at $15 and may be purchased at the Max M. Fisher Music Center box office (3711 Woodward Ave., Detroit); by calling (313) 576-5111; or online at dso.org.  Detroit residents may reserve a ticket for $15 each in any section, excluding the box level, within two weeks of the performance. A valid photo ID with a Detroit address is required. For group discount information (10 people or more), please contact Chuck Dyer at (313) 576-5130 or cdyer@dso.org.


Rachmaninoff & Tchaikovsky

Detroit Symphony Orchestra

Peter Oundjian, conductor

Joyce Yang, pianist

Thurs., Nov. 29th at 7:30 p.m.; Nov. 30th at 10:45 a.m.

KHACHATURIAN Suite from Masquerade and Spartacus
RACHMANINOFF Piano Concerto No. 2
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 2, “Little Russian”

About the DSO:

The internationally acclaimed Detroit Symphony Orchestra, the fourth-oldest symphony orchestra in the United States, is known for trailblazing performances, visionary maestros, collaborations with the world’s foremost musical artists, and an unwavering commitment to Detroit. Esteemed conductor Leonard Slatkin, called “America’s Music Director” by the Los Angeles Times, became the 12th Music Director of the DSO during the 2008-09 season. The DSO offers a performance schedule that includes Classical, Pops, Jazz, Young People’s, Neighborhood concerts and festivals. The DSO makes its home in historic Orchestra Hall, one of America’s most acoustically perfect concert halls, and actively pursues a mission to impact and serve the community through music. For more information visit dso.org.


Leave a comment