DSO 2012-13 Classical and Pops Season

avatar

Highlights

Classical

-        The DSO 2012-13 classical season will open with world-renowned violinist Joshua Bell

-        The Orchestra will work on several recording projects next season:

  • Next season will the DSO will complete the third and final CD of its “Rachmaninoff Project” with Rachmaninoff’s Isle of the Dead and Symphony No. 1
  • A project to record the complete ballets of Copland will begin with Rodeo and Dance Panels, and will also include El Salon Mexico, and Danzon Cubano
  • A straight-to-digital recording of DSO Principal Bassoon playing John Williams’ The Five Sacred Trees will add to the DSO’s existing digital John Williams recordings with DSO soloists, which include violin and horn. The cello recording, featuring DSO Principal Cello Robert deMaine, will take place this May.

-        The DSO will perform all nine Beethoven symphonies in its “Beethoven Festival,” which will result in a straight-to-digital box-set

-        The Orchestra will welcome back such long-time guest conductors as Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos Mark Wigglesworth, Sir Andrew Davis, James de Preist and former DSO Principal Guest Conductor Peter Oundijan. Douglas Boyd, James Gaffigan and Susanna Mӓlkki will lead the DSO for the second time.

-        Andrew Grams and John Storgårds will make their classical subscription debut with the DSO

-        Returning soloists include Olga Kern, piano; Leila Josefowicz, violin; Lynn Harrell, cello; and Andre Watts, piano

-        The following soloists will be making their DSO debut next season: Joyce Yang, piano; Stefan Jackiw, violin; Karen Gomyo, violin; and Rafal Blechacz, piano

-        DSO Principal Cello Robert deMaine, Principal Bassoon Bob Williams and Principal Horn Karl Pituch will all be featured soloists next season

-        In celebration of Benjamin Britten’s 100th birthday, the DSO will perform the Britten Symphony for Cello and Orchestra and the Britten Violin Concerto

-        The Orchestra will perform Stravinsky’s Rite of Spring, in honor of the 100th anniversary of its first performance, which premiered in Paris in 1913

-        The DSO will perform two world premieres, including Roberto Sierra’s Christmas Cantata, Kerry Turner’s Horn Concerto and Missy Mazzoli’s Lebenbom Premiere

Pops

-        Cirque de la Symphonie will add their acrobatics to the sounds of the DSO

-        Jeffrey Tyzik, a frequent guest Pops conductor with the DSO, will lead the Orchestra twice next season

-        Legendary composer and conductor Marvin Hamlisch will return with a Lerner and Loewe program

-        Vocalist Monica Mancini returns to the DSO

-        The DSO will perform the score to “West Side Story” while the film plays at Orchestra Hall

Classical Events

JOSHUA BELL
Leonard Slatkin, conductor

-        Joshua Bell, violin

-        Sasha Cooke, mezzo-soprano
Bernstein  Divertimento

-        Bernstein  Symphony No. 1
Bernstein  Overture to Candide
Bernstein  Serenade

-        Fri., Sept. 28 at 8pm

-        Sat., Sept. 29 at 8pm

-        Sun., Sept. 30 at 3 pm

Slatkin conducts Bolero!

-        Leonard Slatkin, conductor

-        Gabriela Montero, piano

-        Copland – Dance Panels

-        Ravel  Piano Concerto in G

-        Copland  El Salon México

-        Copland  Danzón Cubano

-        Ravel  Boléro

-        Fri., Oct. 12 at 10:45am

-        Sat., Oct. 13 at 8pm

-        Sun., Oct. 14 at 3pm

-       

-        The Romance Of Rachmaninoff

-        Leonard Slatkin, conductor

-        Olga Kern, piano
Rachmaninoff  Caprice Bohemian
Rachmaninoff  Isle of the Dead
Rachmaninoff  Piano Concerto No. 3

-

-        Fri., Oct. 19 at 8pm

-        Sat., Oct. 20 at 8pm

-        Sun., Oct. 21 at 3pm


SIBELIUS’ SECOND SYMPHONY

-        Douglas Boyd, conductor

-        Baiba Skride, violin

-        Schubert  Selections from Rosamunde
Schumann  Violin Concerto
Sibelius  Symphony No. 2

-

-        Thu., Oct. 25 at 7:30pm

-        Fri., Oct. 26 at 10:45am
Copland and Rachmaninoff

-        Leonard Slatkin, conductor

-        Robert Williams, bassoon

-        Copland  Rodeo

-        John Williams  The Five Sacred Trees

-        Rachmaninoff  Symphony No. 1

-        Fri., Nov. 9 at 10:45am

-        Sat., Nov. 10 at 8pm

-        Sun., Nov. 11 at 3pm
von Oeyen plays Schumann

-        Sir Andrew Davis, conductor

-        Andrew von Oeyen, piano
Debussy  Images

-        Schumann  Piano Concerto in A minor

-        Bach/ Davis  Passacaglia

-        Fri., Nov. 16 at 8pm

-        Sun., Nov. 18 at 3pm

-        RACHMANINOFF & TCHAIKOVSKY

-        Peter Oundjian, conductor

-        Joyce Yang, piano

-        Khachaturian Masquerade Suite
Rachmaninoff  Piano Concerto No. 2
Tchaikovsky  Symphony No. 2

-        Thu., Nov. 29 at 7:30pm

-        Fri., Nov. 30 at 10:45am


ROMEO & JULIET

-        Susanna Mälkki, conductor

-        Leila Josefowicz, violin

-        Tchaikovsky  Romeo and Juliet Overture

-        Ades  Violin Concerto

-        Prokofiev  Romeo and Juliet

-        Sat., Dec. 8 at 8pm

-        Sun., Dec. 9 at 3pm

THE NUTCRACKER!

-        Leonard Slatkin, conductor

-        Heidi Grant Murphy, soprano

-        Vaughan Williams  Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis

-        Sierra  Christmas Cantata
Tchaikovsky  Nutcracker, Act II

-        Thu., Dec. 13 at 7:30pm

-        Fri., Dec. 14 at 8pm


Elgar’s Enigma

-        Mark Wigglesworth, conductor

-        Robert deMaine, cello


Purcell/Britten  Chacony
Britten  Symphony for Cello and Orchestra
Elgar  Enigma Variations

-

-        Sat., Jan. 19 at 8pm

-        Sun., Jan. 20 at 3pm

-       

-        Mendelssohn Violin Concerto

-        James Gaffigan, conductor

-        Stefan Jackiw, violin

-        Rossini  Overture to L’Italiana in Algeri
Haydn  Symphony No. 104
Mendelssohn  Violin Concerto
Strauss  Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks

-        Saturday, February 2 at 8 pm

-        The Beethoven Symphonies:

-        3 & 8 / 4 & 5

-        Leonard Slatkin, conductor

-        Beethoven  Leonore No. 3
Beethoven  Symphony No. 3/8

——————————————-
Beethoven  Fidelio
Beethoven  Symphony No.4/5

-        Fri., Feb. 8 at 10:45am and 8pm

-        Sat., Feb. 9 at 8pm


The Beethoven Symphonies:

-        1 & 6 / 2 & 7

-        Leonard Slatkin, conductor

-        Beethoven  Leonore No. 2
Beethoven  Symphony No. 1/6

——————————————–
Beethoven  Leonore No. 1
Beethoven  Symphony No. 2/7

-        Thu., Feb. 14 at 7:30pm

-        Fri., Feb. 15 at 10:45am and 8pm

-        BEETHOVEN’S NINTH
Leonard Slatkin, conductor

-        Joni Henson, soprano

-        Kelley O’Connor, mezzo-soprano

-        Vale Rideout, tenor

-        Jason Grant, bass-baritone

-        Beethoven  Prometheus
Beethoven  Symphony No. 9

-

-        Thu., Feb. 21 at 7:30pm

-        Fri., Feb. 22 at 8pm

-        Sat., Feb. 23 at 8pm

-        Sun., Feb. 24 at 3pm


CLASSICAL ROOTS

-        James dePreist, conductor

-        Eric Owens, bass-baritone

-        Brazeal Dennard Chorale, choir

-        Vanguard Voices, choir


Johnson  Lift Ev’ry Voice and Sing
James Lee III   Sukkot Through Orion’s Nebula
Hailstork  Earthrise

-        Fri., Mar. 8 at 10:45am

-        Sat., Mar. 9 at 8pm

-       
“Rite of Spring” Centennial!

-        Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, conductor

-        Dvorak  Symphony No. 8
Stravinsky  Rite of Spring

-

-        Thu., Mar. 14 at 7:30pm

-        Sat., Mar. 16 at 8pm

-        Mozart 41 & Karen Gomyo

-        Andrew Grams, conductor

-        Karen Gomyo, violin

-        Bach/ Webern  Ricercare
Britten  Violin Concerto
Mozart  Symphony No. 41

-

-        Sat., Apr. 6 at 8pm

Lynn Harrell plays Dvorak

-        Leonard Slatkin, conductor

-        Lynn Harrell, cello

-        Mozart  Overture to the Abduction from the Seraglio
Dvorak  Cello Concerto
Ives  Symphony No. 2

—————————————
Mozart  Overture to Seraglio
Dvorak  Cello Concerto

Ives  Symphony No. 4

-        Fri., Apr. 26 at 10:45am

-        Sun., Apr. 28 at 3pm


The Planets!

-        John Storgårds, conductor

-        Rafael Blechacz, piano

-        Women of the Michigan State University Chorale and State Singers, choir

-        Ligeti  Lontano
Chopin  Piano Concerto No. 2
Holst  The Planets

-

-        Fri., May 3 at 8pm

-        Sat., May 4 at 8pm

-       
Brahms’ Third

-        Leonard Slatkin, conductor

-        Karl Pituch, horn

-        Respighi  Ancient Airs and Dances, Suite No. 3
Turner  Horn Concerto
Brahms  Symphony No. 3

-        Thu., May 23 at 7:30pm

-        Fri., May 24 at 10:45am

-       
season finale

-        ANDRE WATTS!

-        Leonard Slatkin, conductor

-        André Watts, piano

-        Mazzoli  Lebenbom Premiere
MacDowell  Piano Concerto No. 2
Tchaikovsky  Symphony No. 4

-        Fri., May 31 at 10:45am

-        Sat., Jun. 1 at 8pm

Pops Events

Cirque de la Symphonie

Jeff Tyzik, conductor

Fri., Oct. 5 at 10:45 a.m.

Sat., Oct. 6 at 8 p.m.

Sun., Oct. 7 at 3 p.m.

An Evening of Lerner & Loewe

Marvin Hamlisch

Fri., Nov. 2 at 10:45 a.m.

Sat., Nov. 3 at 8 p.m.

The Music of Queen

Sat., Nov. 24 at 8 p.m.

Sun., Nov. 25 at 3 p.m.

Home for the Holidays

John Morris Russell, conductor

Fri., Dec. 21 at 10:45 a.m.

Sat., Dec. 22 at 8 p.m.

Sun., Dec. 23 at 3 p.m.

Winter Dance Party

Fri., Jan. 25 at 10:45 a.m.

Sat., Jan. 26 at 8 p.m.

Sun., Jan. 27 at 3 p.m.

ABBA

Sat., Mar. 2 at 8 p.m.

Sun., Mar. 3 at 3 p.m.

Monica Mancini at the Movies

Fri., Mar. 22 at 10:45 a.m.

Sat., Mar. 23 at 8 p.m.

Sun., Mar. 24 at 3 p.m.

Red Hot and Blues

Jeff Tyzik, conductor

Fri., April 19 at 10:45 a.m.

Sat., April 20 at 8 p.m.

Sun., April 21 at 3 p.m.

Music of John Lennon & Paul McCartney

Michael Krajewski, conductor

Fri., May 17 at 10:45 a.m.

Sat., May 18 at 8 p.m.

Saun., May 19 at 3 p.m.

West Side Story

Fri., June 7 at 10:45 a.m.

Sat., June 8 at 8 p.m.

2 Responses to “DSO 2012-13 Classical and Pops Season”

  1. I’d love to order 2 tickets for the West Side Story event June 7 or 8, and don’t seem to be able to figure out how to do that. I’ve tried several times to reach your box office by phone, unsuccessfully. Would you help me?
    Luann

  2. What will be taking the place of the Marv Hamlisch concert? What a sad loss for all concert goers. His concert was our all time favorite Pops concert. Big shoes to fill.

    Jim and Jo Mitchell

Leave a comment