DSO Announces Fifth Annual Elaine Lebenbom Competition


Memorial Award Continues in Spirit of Recognizing

New Orchestral Works by Women

DETROIT, (Apr. 16, 2010) –The Detroit Symphony Orchestra (DSO) is accepting entries for its fifth annual Elaine Lebenbom Memorial Competition for Female Composers.  The international competition, launched in 2006, is the only annual symphony orchestra sponsored award granted annually to a living female composer, of any age or nationality.  Each year, one winner receives a $10,000 prize and the opportunity to have her original work premiered in the DSO’s Classical Subscription Series.  The award is made possible by an anonymous donor.  The submission deadline for the 2010 competition is July 1, 2010 and the winning composer will be notified no later than Oct. 15, 2010.  Applications may be downloaded at www.detroitsymphony.com/lebenbom   For questions, please contact Erik Rönmark at eronmark@dso.org.

To be considered for the award, participants must submit a resume; a completed application form; sample scores of up to three completed works, including one scored for full symphony; and supporting audio and/or video representation of at least one, preferably the symphonic work.  Submitted entries will be judged by a committee formed by the DSO.

            The first winner of the Lebenbom Competition was Stacy Garrop, a composer and Associate Professor of Composition at Roosevelt University in Chicago.  Garrop was chosen from 192 applicants from 17 countries.  Her work, Becoming Medusa, received its world premiere at Orchestra Hall under the direction of the DSO’s Principal Guest Conductor Peter Oundjian on May 29 during the DSO’s final classical subscription concert of the 2007-08 season.        

The second Lebenbom Award-winner, Margaret Brouwer, is an American composer and head of the composition department at the Cleveland Institute of Music.  Her Rhapsody for Orchestra received its world premiere on Jan. 9 during the 2008-09 classical subscription season under the direction of DSO Music Director, Leonard Slatkin. 

            The third winner, Cindy McTee, is the recipient of numerous awards for her music and has been commissioned to create works by the Detroit, Houston, Amarillo and Dallas orchestras as well as Bands of America, the American Guild of Organists, the Barlow Endowment and the College Band Directors National Association.  Her music has been performed by leading orchestras, bands, and chamber ensembles in Japan, South America, Europe, Australia, and the United States in such venues as Carnegie Hall, the Kennedy Center, and the Sydney Opera House.  The Regents Professor of Music at the University of North Texas, McTee has taught at the university since 1984.  Her Double Play will receive its world premiere on June 3 under the direction of DSO Music Director Leonard Slatkin.

Born and raised in Shanghai, China, Du Yun, currently resides in New York City. She is the fourth winner of the Elaine Lebenbom Competition and an alumna of the Shanghai Conservatory, Oberlin Conservatory, and Harvard University.  Honors include those from the Rockefeller Foundation, Whitney Museum of American Art, Chamber Music America, Meet the Composer, and Jerome Foundation.   Her compositions can be heard on Wugui, Shanghai Classical Music, ATMA Classique, New Focus, and Oxingale.  Since 2006 Du Yun has served on the composition faculty at the State University of New York-Purchase. She is published by Boosey & Hawkes as part of the B & H Emerging Composers program. Du Yun’s work will be presented May 26-28, 2011.

The Elaine Lebenbom Memorial Award was inspired by composer, teacher, poet, artist and lecturer Elaine Lebenbom, a resident of Bloomfield Hills, MI who died in 2002.  The DSO has premiered three of Lebenbom’s works.  Kaleidoscope Turning received its world premiere under the direction of DSO Music Director Emeritus Neeme Järvi in 1997.  Reflections on a Rainbow and Gamatria were debuted in 2004 and 2007, respectively, both after the composer’s death.

The internationally acclaimed Detroit Symphony Orchestra, the fourth-oldest symphony orchestra in the United States, is known for trailblazing performances, visionary maestros and collaborations with the world’s foremost musical artists.  Esteemed conductor Leonard Slatkin, called “America’s Music Director” by the Los Angeles Times, became the 12th Music Director of the DSO during the 2008-09 season.  The DSO offers a year-round performance schedule that includes classical, pops, jazz, young people’s concerts and festivals.  The DSO makes its home in historic Orchestra Hall, one of America’s most acoustically perfect concert halls, and actively pursues a mission to impact and serve the community through music.

The DSO’s diversity programs include the pioneering Classical Roots concerts, the Elaine Lebenbom Memorial Competition for Female Composers, the annual Concert of Colors music festival and the African-American Fellowship program established in 1990.  For more information on the Detroit Symphony Orchestra’s programs, initiatives and concerts, please visit www.detroitsymphony.com.




One Response to “DSO Announces Fifth Annual Elaine Lebenbom Competition”

  1. Great article Thank

    you so much!

Leave a comment