Archive for April 16th, 2010

DSO Announces Fifth Annual Elaine Lebenbom Competition

Memorial Award Continues in Spirit of Recognizing

New Orchestral Works by Women

DETROIT, (Apr. 16, 2010) –The Detroit Symphony Orchestra (DSO) is accepting entries for its fifth annual Elaine Lebenbom Memorial Competition for Female Composers.  The international competition, launched in 2006, is the only annual symphony orchestra sponsored award granted annually to a living female composer, of any age or nationality.  Each year, one winner receives a $10,000 prize and the opportunity to have her original work premiered in the DSO’s Classical Subscription Series.  The award is made possible by an anonymous donor.  The submission deadline for the 2010 competition is July 1, 2010 and the winning composer will be notified no later than Oct. 15, 2010.  Applications may be downloaded at   For questions, please contact Erik Rönmark at READ MORE

Posted in Press Releases | 1 Comment

DSO Welcomes Norwegian violinist Henning Kraggerud in “All Mozart”

DETROIT, (Apr. 16, 2010) –The DSO and Principal Guest Conductor Peter Oundjian welcome Norwegian violinist Henning Kraggerud in a program dedicated to Mozart, titled All Mozart, on May 13-15. The concerts feature Mozart’s Overture to “The Impresario,” Violin Concerto No. 4, Adagio and Fugue in C minor, and concludes with his Symphony No. 38. Performances take place in Orchestra Hall on Thu., May 13 at 8:00 p.m.; Fri., May 14 at 10:45 a.m. and 8:00 p.m.; and Sat., May 15 at 8:30 p.m. READ MORE

Posted in Press Releases | No Comments